Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/aleche35/boards.sethroberts.net/Sources/Load.php(183) : runtime-created function on line 3
The Burma experiment

sethroberts.net forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please read The End Game: Shutting Down the Forums in the "News, Polls, Announcements" subforum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The Burma experiment  (Read 5319 times)

chelsear

The Burma experiment
« on: January 04, 2013, 09:34:50 AM »

I started SLD yesterday and already have some decent AS. I weigh 155 and eventually would like to get to the low 130s, but even the mid-140s mean much better-fitting clothes on my 5'5" medium-frame body.
On the 22nd I leave for a biking trip in Burma (yes I know that's not the current name, but I am old [71] and to me it will always be Burma).
Although I'm a former food writer, dedicated cook and adventurous eater, I've never had Burmese food so I plan to make this trip an experiment in Unfamiliar Foods. If I could return from this trip without gaining weight, I'd be thrilled. And don't think the biking itself will be a factor--I've been on 4 previous biking trips and gained weight on every one. Did you know they serve cake for breakfast in Puglia?
And let's not even mention the foie gras sandwiches in Vietnam. And I rode 50 miles one day in Austria and then had a personal pastry festival. I can easily out-eat any amount of exercise.
So. my plan for Burma is to try as many different foods -- particularly differently spiced foods -- as possible and not just fall in love with one or two new foods and eat them every day. Or twice a day.

i

Rok

Re: The Burma experiment
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2013, 08:26:16 PM »

All the best!
Burma is a place of interest for me as well. After the formation of Burma, tho our neighboring country, its a mystery for us...
---------------------------